Top Ten Videogames of 2015

So, as 2015 draws to a close and we head bleary-eyed into the dawn of 2016 I am left reflecting on the year we just lived through. It was a year of highs and lows, but for videogames, 2015 was different for me. For years I have played solely on Nintendo and PC, but I decided to buy a PS4 (surely making my seven-year-old self cringe). After getting fed up by the lack of quality third-party content on the Wii U, and deciding that playing videogames on the PC is too much of a hassle, I bought a PS4, and I love it.

In general, I feel 2015 was very kind to gamers, with a vast amount of quality content made available for whatever platform you may own. My issue, however, is that there are a few games I have not played from this year, games that could’ve made it onto this list. Also, there are a fair number of 2015 games that I haven’t played all too much, thanks to their late release dates.

Anyway, here are my picks for the top ten videogames of 2015:

10: Bloodborne

bloodborne

From Software’s latest looks and runs great on the Playstation 4, it’s very difficult, but also very enjoyable. It’s the sort of game that wants you to play it a lot, and (despite my little playtime on it), it’s quality ensures that you want to keep coming back for more. It’s not for everyone, but there is not much more rewarding than felling one of the bosses in this nightmare.


 

9: Dragon Quest Heroes: The World Tree’s Woe and the Blight Below

dragon quest heroes

Omega Force are back and have mixed Dynasty Warriors gameplay with Dragon Quest, and boy does it work. I’ve only played the game for a couple of hours, but it’s bright and colourful graphics and simple gameplay are a joy. It’s exciting despite its simplicity, and the game uses its license very well. I challenge anyone to play this without smiling.


 

8: Fallout 4

fallout 4

Another game that I have not spent much time in, but I can tell I love it to bits already, warts and all. The feeling you get when you step outside for the first time, with seemingly the whole, decrepid world at your fingertips is a feeling unlike many others in videogames. Bethesda might not be the best developers in the world, but when it comes to filling you with equal thoughts of wonder and dread, Fallout 4 appears unparalleled.


 

7: Kirby and the Rainbow Paintbrush

kirby rainbow paintbrush

Nintendo loves to play with Kirby games more than any other at their disposal, and Rainbow Paintbrush is no difference. Acting as something of a sequel to the impressive Power Paintbrush for the DS, this game puts you in control of a Kirby ball, which you move by drawing lines with the Gamepad’s touch-screen. Rainbow Paintbrush is a slightly quirky experience, but one I am entirely thankful for. From its fantastic claymation aesthetic to its level design, Rainbow Paintbrush is a joy from start to finish – shame it only lasts around six hours.


 

6: Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

metal gear solid v

For some, Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain would undoubtedly be game of the year. It’s a fantastic experience right from the word go.With a wacky, over-the-top storyline and incredible gameplay mechanics, Kojima has seemingly outdone himself with The Phantom Pain. This is a game full of things to do, and one full of insane amounts of detail. It is a little daunting at first, but once you get into the swing of it more, the game opens itself up to you – and it is mightily impressive.


 

5: Batman Arkham Knight

Batman-Arkham-Knight

Arkham Knight is as good as Arkham City, albeit a little bit grander. Some people dislike the Batmobile in this game, but I think it has added something new to a series that was in danger of growing stale. The story is great fun, the combat and stealth is as fun as ever and the graphics are immense. Arkham Knight is a stellar game that is well worth anyone’s time.


 

4: SteamWorld Heist

steamworld heist review cover

The best eShop game ever made, Steamworld Heist is a blast from start to finish. It employs turn-based cover shooting played on a 2D field, and boy does it work. The characters are awesome, the soundtrack is awesome and the graphics are awesome. It’s an incredible feat for the 3DS and one that I could not put down. Read my review to know what I thought in greater detail.


 

3: Super Mario Maker

super mario maker

I never knew I wanted to make Mario stages until I played Super Mario Maker. The possibilities for stage design are seemingly endless and I have been amazed at some of the incredible stages people have made. I’m not the most creative person, and I’ve been impressed at what I’ve been able to make in the game, and there is no feeling quite like knowing how many times you stage has been attempted, and comparing that to how many people finished it. I wish friends stages were easier to find within the game, but to be honest, that is the only issue with the game. Buy this if you have a Wii U, if you don’t have a Wii U, buy one with this – you won’t regret it.


 

2: Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

monster hunter 4 ultimate

Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate is a beast of a game, it’s huge, difficult and incredibly fun. The game is able to be played in single-player and multi-player, with separate quests for both, and you will want to play it all. It’s crafting and self-imrpovement systems are addictive, and not a chore in the slightest. There is so much to rave about with Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, but I don’t want to stop you playing it. I’m not quite sure if this is the best game in the 3DS’s fantastic library, but it is the most impressive.


 

1: Rocket League

rocket league

Rocket League is my personal pick for game of the year. The concept is simple: cars playing football, with rocket-boosts. If that sounds boring to you, you haven’t played the game. Each match is as thrilling as the last; a long-range goal is as satisfying as an incredible, last second save. No match is quite the same as the last either, not only because of people’s varying skill-levels, but also the variation in tactics. The number of different play-styles and tactics people seem to use in the game is impressive, meaning each new match brings with it new challenges to overcome.

The gameplay is more complicated than driving a car into a ball, as your car can double-jump, and flip about all over the place. Indeed, you can even use your boost to “fly”, meaning you can pull off some amazing tricks if you know how. Never before has a game captured me quite like Rocket League, I’ve pumped more hours into this than I’d like to admit and I still want to play it.


There you have it, my top ten videogames of 2015. I hope you’ve had a great year filled with many quality videogames, and I hope you have a great 2016. If you have any different ideas about the best games of this year, please let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Videogames of 2015

    1. It was a very close call, as Fifa 16 is great fun. I just think that although I have played it a lot more than other games on my list, that the ones I have chosen are of a higher quality.

      If this was a top fifteen list however, Fifa 16 would be at number 11, it was very close to being in my top ten.

Leave a Reply

