DevilDriver – Trust No One Review

The Band:

  • Dez Fafara: Lead Vocalist
  • Austin D’Amond: Drummer and Percussionist
  • Neal Tiemann: Guitarist and Bass Guitarist
  • Mike Spreitzer: Guitarist and Bass Guitarist

Track Listing:

  1. Testimony of Youth
  2. Bad Deeds
  3. My High Sky
  4. This Deception
  5. Above it All
  6. Daybreak
  7. Trust No One
  8. Feeling Un-God-Ly
  9. Retribution
  10. For What it’s Worth

DevilDriver’s latest is great fun but shows a band unwilling to attempt new things. If you’ve heard a DevilDriver album before, it’s very likely that you’ve heard all that Trust No One has to offer. This, however, is no bad thing.

Trust No One is fast, heavy and very aggressive. It does everything you’d expect from a DevilDriver record and it does it very well. Personally, I think Trust No One is the best DevilDriver since their incredible debut. Indeed, it is the most tonally similar. It focuses more on the simpler side of their sound more than albums such as Pray For Villians and Beast, whilst adding a little flavour of the grand and epic. The band’s iconic sound is more refined here than it ever has been – Trust No One is consistently enjoyable.

‘Bad Deeds’ is pure classic DevilDriver. This is the kind of track that will help the band break records for the biggest circle pit all over again. It’s heavy, thrashy and so much fun. The same can be said of the whole ten-track record. Everything clicks here more than it did in the band’s previous work. Each member performs expertly too. Dez Fafara’s unique vocals have never been better and Austin D’Amond’s drumming is out of this world.

The title track ‘Trust No One’ gives everyone in the band a great run-out to show their skills. Neal Tiemann and Mike Spreitzer both kill it on the guitar and bass here. This is a track that features chunky riffs, plenty of thrash moments and a fair amount of invention to be fair. The solos played over the chorus and throughout the track definitely give the song a grander, more epic feel. Indeed. If there’s one area where Trust No One excels it is in its scope. It feels a little grander than DevilDriver’s previous work

Trust No One is a great record and DevilDriver’s best since their insanely good debut. I don’t think it quite matches that album, but it’s bigger sound mixed with its return to the band’s simpler, heavier roots comes across very well. This is consistently enjoyable, heavy thrash metal at its best.


While Trust No One offers more of the same for DevilDriver fans, it’s slightly grander sound makes for a hugely entertaining record.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s