Ex Deo – The Immortal Wars Review

For my in-depth review of this record, please take a look at Broken Amp.

The Band:

  • Maurizio Iacono – vocals
  • Stéphane Barbe – lead guitar
  • Jean-Francois Dagenais – rhythm guitar
  • Dano Apekian – bass guitar
  • Oli Beaudoin – drums

Track Listing:

  1. The Rise of Hannibal
  2. Hispania (Siege of Saguntum)
  3. Crossing of the Alps
  4. Suavetaurilia (Intermezzo)
  5. Cato Major: Carthago Delenda Est!
  6. Ad Victoriam (The Battle of Zama)
  7. The Spoils of War
  8. The Roman

Ex Deo’s latest is an aggressive, great historical metal record. The Immortal Wars puts you right in the heart of Roman battlefields. This is a powerful, exciting album. With a range of quality chunky riffs, brutal death metal sounds and symphonic moments that add to the feel of being in the battle greatly.

What I said in my original review for Broken Amp:

The Immortal Wars is never short on power. From the pounding, powerful opener ‘The Rise of Hannibal’, through to the big finale of ‘The Roman’, The Immortal Wars embodies the aura of a Roman general telling his tales of valour, might and death. The combination of chunky riffs, pounding drums and symphonic moments bring a rich, powerful texture to Ex Deo’s latest that transports you right into the middle of Hannibal’s wars against Africanus. You can see the blood and dirt of the battlefields, and feel the harsh environments of the Alps, the spit streaming from your general’s mouth as he screams for honour, glory, and triumph. Now men, to war!

The Immortal Wars moves beyond its historical metal and power metal trappings through a use of many traits of death metal. This is an aggressive record that tells the tales of the Punic Wars in a thrilling way. You’ll feel right in the centre of battle when listening to this epic.


The Immortal Wars is heavy, epic and oh so good.


One thought on “Ex Deo – The Immortal Wars Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s