E3 2017 Predictions: Microsoft

Finishing off my predictions for what the big three companies will announce at this year’s E3 is Microsoft. Following on from my Nintendo and Sony predictions, I’ll be sharing what I think is likely to happen during Microsoft’s E3 press conference. If I find the time, I will also have specific articles for the likes of Ubisoft, Sega and EA, but for now, this is your lot. Please bear in mind that I don’t play Xbox and am somewhat out of the loop with the console and its games because of this.


They will spend close to an hour talking about the Scorpio’s specs

e3 microsoft scorpio

Microsoft will undoubtedly be keen to showcase to the world just what the Scorpio is all about and I wouldn’t be surprised if the majority of their press conference is spent on the specs and release details of the new machine. It will be interesting to see if the Scorpio is a proper follow-up to the Xbox One, or whether it’s more like the PS4 Pro in execution. In any case, expect to see overly long detailed descriptions of the power behind it, all leading to its release date and price (which may be cheaper than you think). I’m interested to see what they have up their sleeves, but I know it will likely be delivered in the most boring and stale way possible.

A bunch of multi-platform stuff will be shown to highlight the power of the Scorpio compared to the PS4 Pro

e3 call of duty wwII

Microsoft will showcase plenty of games. They have to. In the last couple of years, Xbox One sales have slowed so much that Microsoft stopped telling us how much the console has sold. To turn this around, they must show a lot of exciting titles. I think they will focus perhaps a little too heavily on games that are available on the PS4 also, however, and while these games will look great, they won’t match the level of exclusives on the Playstation. Expect to see the likes of Call of Duty: WWII and Middle-Earth: Shadow of War feature heavily, perhaps Destiny 2 as well, just as I mentioned in my Sony predictions piece.

Halo 6 will be announced

e3 halo 6

Microsoft will announce Halo 6. It will have four-player split-screen local multiplayer and all will be well with the world. Indeed, I’m guessing that Halo 6 will launch by the end of 2017 and will be the main game to sell the new Xbox Scorpio. This one would go down very well if they play their cards right.

Forza Motorsport 7 will be announced

e3 forza 7

To go alongside Halo 6, Microsoft will announce another flagship Scorpio game – Forza Motorsport 7. Discounting Forza Horizon, there hasn’t been a Forza title since 2015, so I wouldn’t be shocked to see them announce Forza Motorsport 7. It will look spectacular and give hard-ons to any and every car nut out there. It will probably come with a 2017 release date slapped on to boot.

An exclusive third-party game will be shown*

e3 microsoft thrid party
*Not Scalebound.

I’m not sure what this will be, but I’d be surprised if there isn’t an Xbox exclusive announced from a third-party. People like From Software, right? Could be something from them.

Crackdown 3 will show up

e3 crackdown 3

Yes, it’s still a thing. It will launch this year.


Are you looking forward to Microsoft’s E3 conference? Do you have any ideas about what you’d like them to show?

Please tell me, I don’t bite.

Leave a Reply

