Gojira – L’Enfant Sauvage Review

The Band:

  • Joe Duplantier – vocals, guitar
  • Christian Andreu – guitar
  • Jean-Michel Labadie – bass
  • Mario Duplantier – drums

L’ Enfant Sauvage Track Listing:

  1. Explosia
  2. L’Enfant Sauvage
  3. The Axe
  4. Liquid Fire
  5. The Wild Healer
  6. Planned Obsolescence
  7. Mouth of Kala
  8. The Gift of Guilt
  9. Pain Is a Master
  10. Born in Winter
  11. The Fall

L’Enfant Sauvage finds Gojira at their best. It’s a heavy, gloriously written, produced and performed record. While it may not be quite as heavy as the likes of The Way of All Flesh, it’s got more than enough meat on the bones to please even the most brutal of metal fans.

It all kicks off with Explosia. An explosive (well, duh) track that instantly lets you know what you’re in for over the next 45 minutes or so. It’s fast, aggressive track at its core, but one that is full of meaning and heart. Across it’s almost seven-minute run time, it twists and turns, but never meanders. Explosia, in many ways, is a perfect summisation of Gojira themselves. It’s a fantastic track – just the first in a phenomenal record full of emotion.

Indeed, L’Enfant Sauvage is an emotional album (so far, so Gojira). Each track carries with it a deep meaning that’s important to Joe Duplantier and the band. This isn’t happy music, but its sombre tones are never dull. Following up the incredible Explosia is the title track. Simply put, L’Enfant Sauvage is one of (if not) the best tracks Gojira has ever released. It’s brutal, beautiful and thought-provoking in equal measure. It’s a progressive piece permeated with staggering moments of malice that will stick in your mind long after the record ends. After the opening two tracks, the record doesn’t let up, either.

Planned Obsolescence is about as angry as you’ll hear Gojira and the spectacular riffs in The Gift of Guilt that drop you into a track that’s as equally crushing as it is mesmerising, The Fall rounds off the album in a special, heavy way that’s as grand as it is terrifying – I could go on and on about each individual track, but you wouldn’t want to read all that gushing. What I want you to take away from this review is that L’Enfant Sauvage is a staggering record full of intensity and mesmerising beauty. It’s dark, but oh so enjoyable. This is a masterpiece from a band known for their spectacular quality and could very well be the best thing they’ve ever released.


L’Enfant Sauvage is crushingly heavy, but full of emotion. An utterly outstanding record.


One thought on “Gojira – L’Enfant Sauvage Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s