Eleven Games I’m Looking Forward To

I haven’t played loads of games this year so far, but you can find my top five games of the year so far list here if you want to give it a read. If I can get hold of a lot of money, these are the top eleven games I’d really like to buy by the end of the year – in order of least wanted to most wanted.


11: South Park: The Fractured But Whole

eleven games 2017 south park

I’m looking forward to playing South Park: The Fractured But Whole, but something about it looks like it won’t be as good as The Stick of Truth. The show has gone seriously downhill since then, perhaps that’s holding my excitement back for this one.

10: Call of Duty WWII

e3 call of duty wwII

Call of Duty is returning to its roots, and while it looks great, I can’t get quite excited about it like I did for Infinite Warfare. I don’t usually buy the new Call of Duty every year, but I just might get this to make it two in a row.

9: Fire Emblem Warriors

eleven games 2017 fire emblem warriors

Following on from the successes of Hyrule Warriors and Dragon Quest Heroes I + II, Koei Tecmo’s next crossover title is Fire Emblem Warriors. It will be interesting to see how they implement elements of Fire Emblem such as permadeath to go along with the Warriors gameplay, and I’m eager to see how it works.

8: Star Wars Battlefront II

eleven games 2017 star wars battlefront II

I’m really interested to see if this sequel can outperform the original in every way. You may be aware that I’m not the biggest fan of the original, but after a stellar showing at E3, my excitement for this one has gone right through the roof. With a full-on single player campaign and a vastly expanded online with free DLC, Battlefront II could easily be the conventional shooter of the year.

7: FIFA 18

eleven games 2017 fifa 18

I missed out on the glorious cheesiness of The Journey on FIFA 17, so I’m really excited to see what it’s like when I get my greasy hands on FIFA 18 in September. The visual and gameplay upgrades to this year’s game look excellent, but I wish that at least one of my hopes for its Career Mode makes its way into the game.

6: Mario + Rabbids: Kingdom Battle

eleven games 2017 mario + rabbids

The crossover no-one knew they needed until Ubisoft showed it off amazingly well at this year’s E3. Not only does it bizarrely combine the Rabbids with the Mushroom Kingdom, but it all plays out at something hugely reminiscent to the XCOM games. This has the chance of being the surprise of the year.

5: Splatoon 2

eleven games 2017 splatoon 2.gif

I never played the original Splatoon, but Splatoon 2 looks ink-redible. With more of a story behind it than the original and a new horde-alike mode, Salmon Run, alongside the charm and modes of the original title. Splatoon 2 should be another ace up the Switch’s hybrid sleeves.

4: Assassin’s Creed: Origins

eleven games 2017 assassins creed origins

I have the utmost faith in Assassin’s Creed: Origins to be one of the best open-world titles to date thanks to its developers. The new Assassin’s Creed comes from the same team behind the brilliant Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. I can’t wait to free-run, stealth and assassinate my way through ancient Egypt.

3: Metroid: Samus Returns

eleven games 2017 metroid samus returns

This is the game of the 3DS this year. Samus Returns is a remake of Metroid II: Return of Samus, but it means so much more than that. This is the first time since Metroid: Other M that we have seen a mainline Metroid entry. With free aim and a handy ever-present map, it looks like it will be a spectacular return for everyone’s favourite bounty hunter.

2: Middle-Earth: Shadow of War

eleven games 2017 shadow of war.jpg

Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor was a great game, full of plenty of smart ideas, but a lot of these ideas weren’t implemented until the end of the game. Shadow of War looks to have improved dramatically on what was already a great game, brimming with even smarter ideas and an emphasis on a dynamic world that shifts to what you do.

1: Super Mario Odyssey

eleven games 2017 super mario odyssey

The rolling out of a new 3D Mario title is normally enough to get everyone excited, but Super Mario Odyssey looks like it’s on another level. This open-world extravagansa lets you take control of a whole host of things including, a T-Rex, Taxis and Bullet Bills. Mario Odyssey looks bold, exciting and spectacular – game of the decade material?

Leave a Reply

